North Korea Leadership Watch

Research and Analysis on the DPRK Leadership

Political Bureau Meeting Held

The Workers’ Party of Korea [WPK] 8th Central Committee Political Bureau held its 14th meeting in Pyongyang on 1 March (Wednesday).  In attendance were Presidium, Members and alternate (candidate) members of the Political Bureau. Two members of the Presidium–Choe Ryong Hae (Ch’oe Ryong-hae) and Ri Pyong Chol (Ri Pyo’ng-ch’o’l) did not attend.

WPK Secretary for Organizational Affairs Jo Yong Won (Cho Yo’ng-wo’n) presided over the meeting.  The meeting dealt with draft resolutions on agricultural and economic policies and changes to processes adopted during the 6th plenum of the 8th Central Committee held in December 2022.  It “decided to examine the feasibility of the draft resolutions and finally complete them before reporting them to the plenary meeting.” The draft resolutions were later submitted to the Central Committee during its final session, also on 1 March.


This article was written on 02 Mar 2023, and is filled under 8th Party Congress, Agriculture Department, basic party organizations, Cadre Affairs, Central Auditing Commission, Central Committee, Choe Ryong Hae, Col. Gen. O Il Jong, Col. Gen. Pak Su Il (GSD/MPS), Comprehensive Affairs, county/city party organizations, critical infrastructure, DPRK Cabinet, DPRK education system, DPRK Legal System, DPRK Premier, Economic Complexes, Finance and Accounting, Five Year Plan (2021), Gen. Ri Pyong Chol, Gen. Ri Yong Gil, General Affairs, Ho Chol Man (CAD), Information Section, Jo Chun Ryong, Jo Yong Won, Jon Hyon Chol (DPRKCVP), Jong Kyong Thaek (State Security), Kim Jae Ryong (Jagang WPK Provincial Committee Chief Secretary), Kim Song Nam (IAD), Kim Tok Hun, KJU Personal Secretariat, Korean Workers' Party (KWP), KPA General Logistics Department, KPA General Political Bureau, KPA General Political Department, KPA supernumerary organizations, KWP Science and Education Department, Lt. Gen. Kim Su Gil, Machine Building Industry Department, military economy, Ministry of Agriculture, Ministry of the People's Armed Forces (MPAF), Organization and Guidance Department, Pak Jong Gun (SPCC-DPRKCVP), Pak Su Il (MPS/corps), Pak Tae Dok (N. Hwanghae WPK), Pak Thae Song (KWP CC Dept), Political Bureau, Propaganda and Agitation Department, Provincial Party Committees, Provincial Party System, Provinicial People's Committee, Pyongyang WPK Committee, Ri Chang Dae (SSD), Ri Hi Yong [NHAM WPK PC], Ri Il Hwan, Ri Pyong Chol, Ri Son Gwon (CPRC/UFD), Ri Thae Sop (MPS/corps), Rural Development Strategy (2022), rural management committees, Secretariat, speed battle, State Affairs Commission, State Planning Commission (SPC), State Security Department, Supreme People's Assembly, WPK Economic Affairs Dept.

An affiliate of 38 North