North Korea Leadership Watch

Research and Analysis on the DPRK Leadership

Security Apparatus

Photo: KCNA/Rodong Sinmun


The pages below are basic organizational backgrounds on the some of the agencies that constitute the DPRK’s national security community.

Central Military Commission (CMC)

Guard Command

KPA Corps Commanders

KPA General Political Department (General Political Bureau) [GPD]

KPA General Staff 

KPA General Staff Department Operations Bureau (General Staff Operations Department) [GSOB]

Military Security Command [MSC]

Ministry of the People’s Armed Forces [MPAF]

National Defense Commission [NDC] [Defunct]

Pyongyang Defense Command [PDC]

State Security Department [Ministry of State Security] [SSD/MSS]




An affiliate of 38 North