North Korea Leadership Watch

Research and Analysis on the DPRK Leadership

Party Conference Held

Kim Jong Un has been elected Vice Chairman of the Central Military Commission (along with GSD Chief, VMAR Ri Yong Ho).  Jang Song Taek was elected an alternate (candidate) member of the Political Bureau and a member of the CMC, while Kim Kyong Hui was elected a member of the Political Bureau.

Party Central Committee Members and Alternates

Kim Jong Un (seated, 2nd L) poses for a commemorative photograph at Kumsusan in September 2010. Among those in attendance are: VMAR Kim Yong Chun (seated L), VMAR Ri Yong Ho (seated, 2nd R), Jang Song Taek (standing, R) and Kim Yang Gon (standing 3rd R) (Photo: KCNA)

Political Bureau Presidium

Kim Jong Il

Kim Yong Nam

Choe Yong Rim

Jo Myong Rok

Ri Yong Ho

Political Bureau

Members of the Political Bureau:

Kim Jong Il, Kim Yong Nam, Choe Yong Rim, Jo Myong Rok, Ri Yong Ho, Kim Yong ChunJon Pyong Ho, Kim Kuk Thae, Kim Ki Nam, Choe Thae Bok, Yang Hyong Sop, Kang Sok Ju, Pyon Yong Rip, Ri Yong Mu, Ju Sang Song, Hong Sok Hyong and Kim Kyong Hui.

Alternate (candidate)  members:

Kim Yang Gon, Kim Yong Il, Pak To Chun, Choe Ryong Hae, Jang Song Thaek, Ju Kyu Chang, Ri Thae Nam, Kim Rak Hui, Thae Jong Su, Kim Phyong Hae, U Tong Chuk, Kim Jong Gak, Pak Jong Sun, Kim Chang Sop and Mun Kyong Dok


Kim Ki Nam

Choe Thae Bok

Choe Ryong Hae

Mun Kyong Dok

Pak To Chun

Kim Yong Il

Kim Yang Gon

Kim Phyong Hae

Thae Jong Su

Hong Sok Hyong

Kim Jong Un (Photo: Yonhap)

Central Military Commission


Kim Jong Il


Kim Jong Un and  Ri Yong Ho


Kim Yong Chun, Kim Jong Gak, Kim Myong Guk, Kim Kyong Ok, Kim Won Hong, Jong Myong Do, Ri Pyong Chol, Choe Pu Il, Kim Yong Chol, Yun Jong Rin, Ju Kyu Chang, Choe Sang Ryo, Choe Kyong Song, U Tong Chuk, Choe Ryong Hae and Jang Song Thaek

Control Commission


Kim Kuk Thae

Vice Chairmen

Jong Myong Hak (1st Vice Chairman)

Ri Tuk Nam


Cha Kwan Sok, Pak Tok Man, Cha Sun Gil and Kim Yong Son

Central Auditing Commission


Kim Chang Su

Vice Chair

Pak Myong Sun


Choe Pae Jin, Kim Chol, Sim Chol Ho, O Ryong Il, Kye Yong Sam, Ryu Hyon Sik, Ko Myong Hui, Pang Yong Uk, Jang Jong Ju, Ho Kwang Uk, Ji Tong Sik, Jong Pong Sok and Choe Kwon Su


This article was written on 29 Sep 2010, and is filled under Jang Song-thaek, Kim Jong-il, Kim Jong-un, Korean People's Army (KPA), Korean Workers' Party (KWP), Third Party Conference, Uncategorized.

An affiliate of 38 North