North Korea Leadership Watch

Research and Analysis on the DPRK Leadership

Kim Jae Ryong

DPRK Premier Kim Jae Ryong speaks about the DPRK Government’s efforts in dealing with coronavirus. Pak Thae Dok is at the left and Ri Man Gon is on the right (Photo: KCTV/KCNA)

updated 8 April 2022

Kim Jae Ryong (Kim Ch’ae-ryong) is director of the Workers’ Party of Korea [WPK] Organization Guidance Department [OGD].  Kim is the immediate past DPRK Premier having served from April 2019 to August 2020.  He is also a member of the WPK Political Bureau, member of the WPK Central Committee and a deputy of the Supreme People’s Assembly [SPA].

Kim has held guidance officer and political management positions at industrial sites. His first major position was as a secretary of the North P’yo’ngan WPK Provincial Committee. He was appointed Chief
Secretary of the Chagang WPK Provincial Committee in March 2015. He was elected a Member of the WPK Central Committee during the 7th Congress of the WPK in May 2016.

In April 2019, Kim was appointed DPRK Premier.  He was also elected a member of the WPK Political Bureau.  Kim maintained the same schedule of public inspection events as his two predecessors.  In February 2020 he was appointed head of the DPRK’s epidemic emergency committee and tasked to lead the DPRK Government’s response to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

Kim Jae Ryong was removed from office as DPRK Premier by an order of the State Affairs Commission [SAC], publicized on 13 August 2020.  During a subsequent session of the WPK Political Bureau, Kim was appointed to the Executive Policy Bureau (Council) and made a WPK Vice Chairman for Organizational Affairs.  During the 8th Party Congress in January 2021, Kim was elected a member of the Political Bureau and appointed director of the OGD.


Kim Jae Ryong

Director, WPK Organization Guidance Department

Member WPK Political Bureau

Member, WPK Central Committee

Deputy, 14th SPA


2007 (ca.): Secretary, North P’yo’ngan WPK Provincial Committee

2015: (March) appointed, Chief Secretary, Chagang WPK Provincial Committee

(November) Member, Ri Ul Sol Funeral Committee

(December) Member, Kim Yang Gon Funeral Committee

2016: (May) Elected, Member, 7th WPK Central Committee

Chairman, Chagang (Jagang) WPK Provincial Committee

(May), Member, Kang Sok Ju Funeral Committee

2018: (December) Member, Kim Chol Man Funeral Committee

2019 (March) Elected, Deputy, 14th Supreme People’s Assembly

(April)  Elected, Member, WPK Political Bureau

Appointed, DPRK Premier

2020:(January) Member, Hwang Sun Hui Funeral Committee

(August) Dismissed, DPRK Premier

(August) Appointed, Member, WPK Executive Policy Bureau

Appointed, Director, WPK Organization Guidance Department

2021: (January) Elected, 8th WPK Central Committee

Elected, WPK Political Bureau

Appointed, Director, Organization Guidance Department

An affiliate of 38 North