North Korea Leadership Watch

Research and Analysis on the DPRK Leadership

Wreath Laying Ceremonies on KPA’s 85th

Members of the DPRK central leadership including DPRK Premier Pak Pong-chu visit the Patriotic Martyrs’ Cemetery on April 25, 2017 (Photo: KCTV).

Floral wreaths were delivered to war memorial and revolutionary hero cemeteries around the DPRK on April 25 (Tuesday), the official 85th anniversary of the foundation of the Korean People’s Army [KPA].  Senior Workers’ Party of Korea [WPK[, KPA and DPRK Government officials brought flowers to the three major cemeteries in Pyongyang.  Floral baskets were also presented at Kim Il Sung (Kim Il-so’ng) and Kim Jong Il (Kim Cho’ng-il) statues and icon monuments in Pyongyang and in the provinces.

Visitors to  the Revolutionary Martyrs Cemetery on Mt. Taesong included Supreme People’s Assembly [SPA] Presidium President Kim Yong Nam (Kim Yo’ng-nam), WPK Vice Chairman Kim Ki Nam (Kim Ki-nam), DPRK Vice Premier and State Planning Commission Chairman Ro Tu Chol (Ro Tu-ch’o’l), WPK Organization Guidance Department Senior Deputy Director Jo Yon Jun (Cho Yo’n-chun) and immediate past chairman of the Second Economic Committee (Second Economy Commission) Jo Chun Ryong (Cho Ch’un-ryong).  Visitors to the Patriotic Martyrs’ Cemetery included DPRK Premier and State Affairs Commission Vice Chairman Pak Pong Ju (Pak Pong-chu), WPK Vice Chairman and SPA Chairman Choe Thae Bok (Ch’oe T’ae-pok), WPK Vice Chairman Kim Yong Chol (Kim Yo’ng-ch’o’l), Minister of People’s Security Gen. Choe Pu Il (Choe Pu-il),  SPA Presidium Vice President and Korea Social Democratic Central Committee Chairman Kim Yong Dae (Kim Yo’ng-tae), WPK Agriculture Department Director Ri Chol Man (Ri Ch’o’l-man), WPK Propaganda and Agitation Department Deputy Director Kim Pyong Ho (Kim Pyo’ng-ho) and WPK Finance and Accounting Department Senior Deputy Director Jon Il Chun (Cho’n Il-ch’un).  Visitors to the Fatherland Liberation War (Korean War) Martyrs’ Cemetery included WPK Vice Chairman and State Affairs Commission Vice Chairman Choe Ryong Hae (Ch’oe Ryong-hae), SPA Presidium Vice President Yang Hyong Sop (Yang Hyo’ng-sop), DPRK Foreign Minister Ri Yong Ho (Ri Yo’ng-ho) and WPK Organization Guidance Department Senior Deputy Director Kim Kyong Ok (Kim Kyo’ng-ok).

Floral wreaths sent jointly by the WPK Central Committee, the DPRK State Affairs Commission, the SPA Presidium and the DPRK Cabinet were delivered to pedestals at the Revolutionary Martyrs’ Cemetery and Patriotic Martyrs’ Cemetery.  A wreath jointly sent by the WPK Central Committee and the DPRK State Affairs Commission was delivered to the Fatherland Liberation War Martyrs’ Cemetery.  Also delivered to the cemeteries were floral wreaths from the Ministry of the People’s Armed Forces, the Ministry of People’s Security, Workers’ and Social Organizations, DPRK Cabinet Ministries, KPA and Korean People’s Internal Security Forces [KPISF] units, state institutions, societal and cultural organizations and institutions, the DPRK media and various party and power organizations and production units.

Ceremony participants “observed a moment’s silence in memory of the martyrs” then walked around the cemeteries.


This article was written on 25 Apr 2017, and is filled under 2017 Army Day (April 25), Agriculture Department, Central Committee, Central Military Committee, Central Party Affairs/Cadres 5th Section, Choe Ryong Hae, Choe Tae Bok, Col. Gen. No Kwang Chol (KPAGS), county/city party organizations, DPRK Cabinet, DPRK External Relations, DPRK Premier, Executive Policy Bureau, Finance and Accounting, Gen. Choe Pu Il, Gen. Kim Yong Chol, General Affairs, General Federation of Science and Technology of Korea, General Federation of Trade Unions of Korea, Guard Command, Information Section, Jo Chun Ryong, Jo Yon Jun (OGD), Jon Il Chun, Kim Family, Kim Il Sung Youth League, Kim Jong-il, Kim Jong-un, Kim Ki Nam, Kim Ki-nam, Kim Kyong Ok (OGD), Kim Yong Dae, Kim Yong Nam, kisyl, KJI Personal Secretariat, Korean Democratic Women's Union, Korean People's Internal Security Forces, Korean People's Army (KPA), Korean Social Democratic Party, Korean Workers' Party (KWP), kpif, local people's committees, Machine Building Industry Department, ministry of people's security, Ministry of the People's Armed Forces (MPAF), Organization and Guidance Department, Pak Pong Ju, Party elders, party life, Party Life Guidance, Political Bureau, Propaganda and Agitation Department, Provincial Party Committees, Provincial Party System, Provinicial People's Committee, Public Events, Ri Yong Ho (FA), Ro Tu Chol, Second Economic Committee, Second Economy Commission, State Affairs Commission, State Planning Commission (SPC), Supreme People's Assembly, uawk, Workers' and Social Organizations, Yang Hyong Sop.

An affiliate of 38 North