North Korea Leadership Watch

Research and Analysis on the DPRK Leadership

Kim Pyong Ryul

Kim Pyong Ryul

President, DPRK Central Court

Member, Party Central Committee (CC KWP)

Member, Legislation Committee, 12th Supreme People’s Assembly


1969: Chief Secretary, North Pyongan KWP Provincial Committee

1970: Elected, Member, CC KWP

1972: Deputy, 5th SPA

1982: Deputy, 7th SPA

1986: Deputy, 8th SPA

1989: Resigned as Chief Secretary of the North Pyongan KWP Provincial Committee

1990: KWP Secretary, Central People’s Committee

1991: Promoted, Lieutenant General, KPA

1995: Promoted, General, KPA

1998: (September) Elected, President, DPRK Central Court

Deputy, 10th SPA

Member, Legislation Committee, 10th SPA

2003: Deputy, 11th, SPA

2009: Deputy, 12th SPA

Member, Legislation Committee, 12th SPA

Re-appointed, President, DPRK Central Court

An affiliate of 38 North